What Is The Wheel Of The Year

Well Divined
Well Divined
Empowering Through Mindfulness & Magic
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
The Wheel Of The Year

Our editors have independently chosen the products listed on this page. If you purchase something mentioned in this article, we may earn a small commission.

In This Post

The wheel of the year is a collection of witchcraft holidays over the year.

Traditionally, practicing witches celebrates eight Sabbats each year consisting of four astronomical holidays (the equinoxes and solstices) and four traditional holidays.

Sabbats are celebrated by witches to mark harvest days, deity remembrances, and cross-quarter days. The wheel of the year is honored because it is considered a meaningful way to connect with nature and the passing of time.

The Eight Sabbats

Yule (December 21)

Yule is considered to be the beginning of the year for witches. The Yule sabbat marks the shortest day and the longest night, the point when days will start growing longer again — until the height of the sun’s power comes around again during the midsummer.

Ways To Celebrate Yule:

The Yuletide season is a time for celebrating the return of light after the darkest and coldest season of the year. The winter solstice is also honored because many believe that more than one god was born during this year.

Yule is a time of rebirth after having died during the Samhain. It is a period of awakening and renewal of life. Witches celebrate the season by baking & cooking, decorating their altars and homes with evergreen branches, bright sprigs, and ornamental decorations in the colors of red, green, white, and gold.

Imbolc (February 1)

Imbolc marks the blooming of spring and the time of preparation for the planting season. It is a season to reassess the land, modify operations, and set new goals. Imbolc is a time for new projects, businesses, and negotiations. For witches, Imbolc is a festival of purification.

Ways To Celebrate Imbolc:

During Imbolc, witches clean their altars and reattune their tools to guide them in reaching their full potential in the remaining days to come. In the modern-day, Imbolc is also a time to declutter the home and discard items that no longer have a use.

Ostara (March 21)

Ostara is a relatively pagan cousin of the Easter celebration. It is also the second celebration of fertility when beauty, fertility, and blessings become more evident.

During this time, flowers bloom and symbols of fertility can be seen in forests, parks, and even in grocery aisles.

Ways To Celebrate Ostara:

During Ostara, witches reevaluate their goals and achievements and realign themselves with their priorities. Continually pouring effort towards a goal may be hindering you in seeing the overview of the situation.

This period is the best time to check on what is working, what isn’t, and what can improve your pace to reach your goals.

Beltane (May 1)

Beltane is a fire festival and the third and last of the celebration of fertility. It is a celebration that’s sexual in nature.

Mythically, Beltane represents the unity of the Sun god and the Great goddess’ energies through lovemaking — the creation of the holy child who will be born at Yule.

Ways To Celebrate Beltane:

Witches celebrate Beltane by decorating their altar with the images of the sun god and great goddess.

During this time, witches honor both female and masculine energies, the yin and the yang.

Because of the balance of both powerful energies during Beltane, witches consider this period as the best time for divination and spellwork.

Litha (June 21)

Litha or the summer solstice is a celebration of the longest day and shortest night of the year. It is when the Sun is at its most powerful state when its light is believed to have the power to cast off all negative energies in one’s auric field.

Ways To Celebrate Litha:

Litha is a celebration of light and bounty. Witches honor the sun by feasting on garden-fresh food and decorating their home with solar symbols. Alternatively, farmers use this period to mark the beginning of the harvest.

Lughnasadh (August 1)

Lughnasadh is the continuation of the Litha celebration and is named as the first harvest festival in the pagan calendar. During this time, the sun god is believed to start losing his strength to feed and nourish the people.

Ways To Celebrate Lughnasadh :

For farmers, Lughnasadh marks the time for reaping grain from the land. On the other hand, witches celebrate Lughnasadh by feasting on loaves of freshly baked bread and other fruits from harvest.

During this time, agricultural markets and trade fairs are fairly evident in the local scene.

Sabbat Celebration

Mabon (September 21)

The autumn equinox is called the second harvest when autumn fruits, nuts, and vegetables reach maturity. It is the turning point of the year that marks the nearing of the winter season. Mabon is a time for gratitude and recognition for the rewards reaped during the harvest season.

Ways To Celebrate Mabon:

Many types of witches celebrate Mabon just as Christians celebrate Thanksgiving. Mabon is a time for gathering and unconditionally sharing what you have reaped with others. During this time, witches gather and host potlucks with offerings of wine, fruits, and boughs.

Samhain (October 31)

For a lot of people, October 31 is celebrated in costumes and spooky activities.

For witches, October 31 is a sabbatical day of Samhain, a holiday that marks the summer’s ends and a day of tribute to the dead. Samhain is a time to feast and commune with ancestors and honored spirits, both known and unknown.

Ways To Celebrate Samhain:

During the Samhain, witches cast off the year’s attachments and accomplishments, purging the ego and the spirit of negative thoughts, self-limiting beliefs, and material bounty. It is basically a time when witches become friends with death.

Witches also feast in the Samhain by eating sweets to symbolize the sweetness of life and its impermanence.

More You'll Love

Magical Properties Of Basil


Basil is an herb that has many uses in magic, and it is widely available to almost everyone. The magical properties of Basil are very

Alexandrian Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Alexandrian Witchcraft

The Alexandrian witch is a path of witchcraft that describes someone who reveres the presence and powers of both masculine and feminine energies, and works

Gardnerian Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Gardnerian Witchcraft

Gardnerian witches are proud to trace their lineage of teaching back to Gerald Gardner, who popularized what is commonly referred to as British Traditional witchcraft.

Correllian Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Correllian Witchcraft

The Correllian Witch is part of a tradition founded by Orpheis Caroline High Correll that is often called Correllian Nativist Wicca, and practices based on

Cosmic Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Cosmic Witchcraft

The cosmic witch is a witch that uses the planets and celestial movements and their associated energies in their craft. They have a special connection

Hereditary Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Hereditary Witchcraft

The hereditary witch is a witch that practices folk magic or witchcraft traditions that have been passed down between generations within their family. Often, hereditary

Picks For You

Crystals For Protection

Crystals For Protection

Everything in life contains energy. Although we find peace in solitude or during a spiritual practice, being exposed to negative energies is inevitable for everyone.

Samhain Sabbat


When Is Samhain? October 31st – November 1st Samhain is a very special sabbat for many Witches, and it’s even been called “The Witch’s New

Empowering yourself is a journey, join us.

Sign up for our newsletter for new ideas, celebrations & deals.