How Many Cards Are In A Tarot Deck?

Well Divined
Well Divined
Empowering Through Mindfulness & Magic
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
How Many Cards In A Tarot Deck

Our editors have independently chosen the products listed on this page. If you purchase something mentioned in this article, we may earn a small commission.

In This Post

The standard tarot deck is composed of 78 cards and is divided into two groups: the major and minor arcana.

The major arcana in a reading typically represents the main influences that govern a situation or a particular circumstance.

On the other hand, the minor arcana portrays the ‘small yet big’ things that are affecting the composition of an outcome.

The Major Arcana

The major arcana is composed of impactful readings that are to be taken seriously. It can be linked to a major turnaround or a leading influence causing great setbacks in your progress.

The major arcana are composed of 22 cards as listed below:

The Fool: Leave the past, cut your ties with the future, and cherish the present moment.

The Fool in a reading suggests that you take an open and willing mind by leaving worry behind.

The Magician: The Magician in a reading reminds you to be conscious of your power and capability to be the best that you can be.

The High Priestess: The High Priestess is both feminine and intuitive – implying you to step back, reassess, and develop your relationship with your highest self before taking any action.

The Empress: The Empress is connected to Mother Nature and is a symbol of compassion, kindness, beauty, and love.

The Emperor: The Emperor in a reading is highly masculine in nature. Seeing this in a reading may imply that you already encompass the wisdom and knowledge to take on a higher plane.

The Hierophant: The Hierophant is inclined to follow tradition and apply the wisdom of the old. Seeing this in a reading may mean that you already know what you need to know about a situation.

The Lovers: The Lovers is closely linked to your close relationships which could be affecting your wellbeing or the other way around.

The Chariot: You lead the way. The Chariot in a reading may have just appeared to tell you that your choices have consequences.

Strength: Quite literal, but not physical. Strength can mean the fortitude of your heart and your courage in dealing with a certain situation.

The Hermit: Listen and observe. The Hermit suggests you take a step back and practically reassess the situation before speaking yet another word.

Wheel of Fortune: Enjoy impermanence. This card encourages you to loosen your grip to anything you “own”.

Justice: Karma is a universal law and it is real. Seeing this can either be good or bad, depending on the context.

The Hanged Man: The hanged man represents you, in a limbo. You might be blocked or stuck in idleness for a moment. Seeing this in a reading suggests you to finally take action.

Death: Death of bad habits, sourness, anger, depression, and envy. Leave and dispel toxic behaviors that cloud your connection with your true self.

Temperance: Moderation is key. The temperance in a reading tells you to pause, rest, and moderate whatever you have been overindulging with.

The Devil: You hold the keys to your success. Quit feeding on misleading information that raises self-doubt.

The Tower: Endings are inevitable in this impermanent life. Accept, acknowledge, and rebuild.

The Star: The universe hears you! Your manifestations are slowly being led to your path.

The Moon: Reconnect with yourself and acknowledge what is in there. Power comes from knowing what you have and what you have yet to improve.

The Sun: Appreciate and see the beauty and light around you. You are blessed!

Judgment: You are not defined by your past nor your future. You have the chance to change for the better.

The World: Success, fulfillment, and satisfaction. The World reminds you that you already have what you need and want in this lifetime to achieve your goals.

Major & Minor Arcana

The Minor Arcana

The lesser or the minor arcana, although defined as ‘less’, should not be taken lightly. Drawing a card from any of the suits also implies some of the ‘small’ influences that are affecting a situation in the long run.

Each suit is represented by symbols that are linked to the four elements: Air, Fire, Water, and Earth.

Cups: The suit of cups characterizes the water element. Encountering this in a reading could mean that a situation is closely linked to your relationships, creativity, and connection with the Divine.

Wands: The suit of wands is governed by the fire element and is associated with your passion, charisma, and drive towards a particular circumstance.

Swords: The suit of swords is linked to the air element responsible for keeping your logic and practicality towards a certain pain point in your life. It is ruled by the air element.

Pentacle: The suit of pentacles is materialistic in nature as it identifies the Earth itself.

Now, it may seem to be overwhelming to read about all these meanings. Surprisingly, you do not have to memorize everything on the list.

Get acquainted with the meanings but focus your attention on how you feel with each card. Your intuition matters more than what they “mean” as you focus on the divinatory aspects of each card on its own.

More You'll Love

Magical Properties Of Basil


Basil is an herb that has many uses in magic, and it is widely available to almost everyone. The magical properties of Basil are very

Alexandrian Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Alexandrian Witchcraft

The Alexandrian witch is a path of witchcraft that describes someone who reveres the presence and powers of both masculine and feminine energies, and works

Gardnerian Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Gardnerian Witchcraft

Gardnerian witches are proud to trace their lineage of teaching back to Gerald Gardner, who popularized what is commonly referred to as British Traditional witchcraft.

Correllian Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Correllian Witchcraft

The Correllian Witch is part of a tradition founded by Orpheis Caroline High Correll that is often called Correllian Nativist Wicca, and practices based on

Cosmic Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Cosmic Witchcraft

The cosmic witch is a witch that uses the planets and celestial movements and their associated energies in their craft. They have a special connection

Hereditary Witchcraft Types Of Witchcraft

Hereditary Witchcraft

The hereditary witch is a witch that practices folk magic or witchcraft traditions that have been passed down between generations within their family. Often, hereditary

Picks For You

Crystals For Protection

Crystals For Protection

Everything in life contains energy. Although we find peace in solitude or during a spiritual practice, being exposed to negative energies is inevitable for everyone.

Samhain Sabbat


When Is Samhain? October 31st – November 1st Samhain is a very special sabbat for many Witches, and it’s even been called “The Witch’s New

Empowering yourself is a journey, join us.

Sign up for our newsletter for new ideas, celebrations & deals.